Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Minnesota Counties
There are87 Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Mower County, Minnesota

Mower County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Austin
Year Organized: 1855
Square Miles: 712
Court House:

201 1st Street, NE
County Courthouse
Austin, MN 55912-3405

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named for John E. Mower, member of the council in the territorial legislature, 1854-55; state representative, 1874-75.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Insert History Here

Neighboring Counties:

  • Insert Counties Here

Cities and Towns:

- Adams city Incorporated Area
- Austin (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Bennington township
- Brownsdale city Incorporated Area
- Clayton township
- Dexter city Incorporated Area
- Elkton city Incorporated Area
- Frankford township
- Grand Meadow city Incorporated Area
- Lansing township
- Le Roy city Incorporated Area
- Lodi township
- Lyle city Incorporated Area
- Mapleview city Incorporated Area
- Nevada township
- Pleasant Valley township
- Racine city Incorporated Area
- Red Rock township
- Rose Creek city Incorporated Area
- Sargeant city Incorporated Area
- Taopi city Incorporated Area
- Udolpho township
- Waltham city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"