Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Roseau County, Minnesota

Roseau County Education, Geography, and HistoryRoseau County, Minnesota Courthouse

Roseau County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,629. Its county seat is Roseau. It is south from the Canadian border of Manitoba

Etymology - Origin of Roseau County Name

Named for Roseau Lake and River. Roseau is the French translation of the Ojibway name ga-shash-agunushkokawi-sibi, meaning "place of the rushes".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Roseau County History

Roseau County was once the home of many Chippewa, Sioux, and Mandan tribes. Archeologists have found artifacts within the county belonging to these tribes that date back 7,200 years ago

Roseau County was created on February 28, 1894 (Organized in 1897) from Beltrami County and Kittson County. The county was named for Roseau Lake and River. Roseau is the French translation of the Ojibway name ga-shash-agunushkokawi-sibi, meaning "place of the rushes". The County Seat is located in Roseau

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,678 square miles (4,350 km2), of which 1,672 square miles (4,330 km2) is land and 6.5 square miles (17 km2) (0.4%) is water. Roseau is one of 17 Minnesota savanna counties with more savanna soils than either prairie or forest soils.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Rural Municipality of Stuartburn Manitoba (northwest)
  • Rural Municipality of Piney Manitoba (north)
  • Lake of the Woods County (east)
  • Beltrami County (southeast)
  • Marshall County (south)
  • Kittson County (west)


Minnesota Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer