Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Mississippi Counties
Mississippi County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Mississippi Counties

There are 82 Counties in Mississippi.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Tippah County, Mississippi

Tippah County Education, Geography, and History

County Seat: Ripley
Year Organized: 1836
Square Miles: 458
Court House:

P.O. Box 99
County Courthouse
Ripley, MS 38663-0099

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Tippah is named for Tippah, wife of Pontotoc, an important Chickasaw leader.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Tippah County was established February 9, 1836, and was named for the wife of Pontotoc, a Chickasaw Indian chief, the name signifying “cut off.” It was one of the twelve counties created out of the Chickasaw cession of 1882. It was originally a very large county of about 27 townships and embraced within its area a large part of the present county of Benton, as well as the northern portion of Union and the western portions of Alcorn and Prentiss counties. The county seat of Tippah is Ripley. Its original limits were defined as follows:

“Beginning at the point where the line between townships 6 and 7 intersects the basis meridian, to the northern boundary line of the State; thence east with the said boundary line, to the line between ranges 5 and 6 east; thence south with the said range line, to the line between townships 6 and 7; and thence west with the said township line to the beginning.”

In 1873, parts of the original county were detached to form parts of Alcorn, Benton and Union counties.

Many wealthy and substantial planters, merchants and professional men came to the region in the early ‘30s, and settled along the banks of its streams. Among the early settlements of those years, which flourished for a time, but are now moribund, may be mentioned Salem, Orizaba and Ruckersville. Salem was first settled in 1836, incorporated 1837. It was two or three miles west of Ashland in what was then Tippah County, and was absorbed by the latter place.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 460 square miles (1,191 km2), of which, 458 square miles (1,186 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) of it (0.45%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Hardeman County, Tennessee (north)
  • Alcorn County (northeast)
  • Prentiss County (southeast)
  • Union County (south)
  • Benton County (west)


Mississippi Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools