Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Virginia Counties
Virginia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Virginia Counties
The Commonwealth of Virginia is divided into 95 counties and 39 independent cities, which are considered county-equivalents for census purposes.

Accomack County, Virginia

Accomack County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Accomac
Year Organized: 1663
Square Miles: 455
Court House:

P.O. Box 388
County Courthouse
Accomac, VA 23301-0388

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Accomack is named for a Native American word decscribing the Eastern Shore as accawmacke, or, in English, across the water place


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Accomack County, Virginia formed from Northampton County. Legislative enactment in 1661. Organized in 1662. Virginia Counties: Those Resulting from Virginia Legislation, by Morgan Poitiaux Robinson, originally published as Bulletin of the Virginia State Library, Volume 9, January, April, July 1916, reprinted 1992 by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Baltimore, MD.]

Accomack County is on the peninsula that separates the Chesapeake Bay from the Atlantic Ocean. The westernmost point in the county is Tangier Island, accessible from the county by tour boat during the summer, and the easternmost point is Assateague Island accessible by causeway. One may watch the sunrise over the Atlantic and the sunset over the Chesapeake. Between are acres of woodland and fields interspersed with towns and villages with unique shops and stores.

Accomac Shire was established in 1634 as one of the original eight shires of Virginia. The shire's name comes from the Native American word Accawmack, meaning "on the other side".

The original shire of Accomac, created in 1634, covered the entire Eastern Shore. The name of the shire was changed to Northampton in 1642. This name change was part of an effort by the English to eliminate "heathen" names in the New World. So, an English name, Northampton, was chosen.

Since many settlers were choosing the Eastern Shore as their new home, in 1663 it was decided that the area should be divided into two counties. So, the northern half was renamed Accomac.

Accomac County was abolished for a time in 1670. Governor William Berkeley, wanted to arrest Col. Edmund Scarburgh for the murders of some Native American chiefs. This was one of the incidents that led to Bacon's Rebellion in 1676. Scarburgh claimed to be a Burgess for Accomac, and members of the General Assembly were immune to arrest. So, to circumvent this situation, Governor Berkeley nullified the law that created the county. This eliminated Scarburgh's protection from being arrested. When Scarburgh died in 1671, the General Assembly re-created Accomac County.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Somerset County, Maryland - northwest
  • Worcester County, Maryland - northeast
  • Northampton County, Virginia - south
  • Middlesex County, Virginia - west (water boundary only, in Chesapeake Bay)
  • Lancaster County, Virginia - west (water boundary only, in Chesapeake Bay)
  • Northumberland County, Virginia - west (water boundary only, in Chesapeake Bay)

Cities and Towns:

- Accomac (County Seat) town Incorporated Area
- Belle Haven town Incorporated Area
- Bloxom town Incorporated Area
- Chincoteague town Incorporated Area
- Hallwood town Incorporated Area
- Keller town Incorporated Area
- Melfa town Incorporated Area
- Onancock town Incorporated Area
- Onley town Incorporated Area
- Painter town Incorporated Area
- Parksley town Incorporated Area
- Saxis town Incorporated Area
- Tangier town Incorporated Area
- Wachapreague town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"