Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Virginia Counties
Virginia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Virginia Counties
The Commonwealth of Virginia is divided into 95 counties and 39 independent cities, which are considered county-equivalents for census purposes.

Dickenson County, Virginia

Dickenson County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Clintwood
Year Organized: 1880
Square Miles: 333
Court House:

P.O. Box 1098
County Courthouse
Clintwood, VA 24228-1098

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Dickenson is named for Virginia state legislator William J. Dickenson.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Dickinson County, Virginia formed from Buchanan, Russell, and Wise Counties.

Dickenson County was named for William J. Dickenson, delegate to the General Assembly from Russell County in 1880 when Dickenson was formed from Russell, Wise and Buchanan Counties. Its area is 355 square miles, and its county seat is Clintwood

Neighboring Counties:

  • Buchanan County, Virginia - northeast
  • Russell County, Virginia - southeast
  • Wise County, Virginia - southwest
  • Pike County, Kentucky - northwest

Cities and Towns:

- Clinchco town Incorporated Area
- Clintwood (County Seat) town Incorporated Area
- Haysi town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"