Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Virginia Counties
Virginia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Virginia Counties
The Commonwealth of Virginia is divided into 95 counties and 39 independent cities, which are considered county-equivalents for census purposes.

Fauquier County, Virginia

Fauquier County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Warrenton
Year Organized: 1759
Square Miles: 650
Court House:

10 Hotel Street

Warrenton, VA 20186-3206

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Fauquier is named for Francis Fauquier, a lieutenant governor of Virginia during the colonial era


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Fauquier County, Virginia formed from Prince William County. Later changes occurred from 1823-1824. [Virginia Counties: Those Resulting from Virginia Legislation, by Morgan Poitiaux Robinson, originally published as Bulletin of the Virginia State Library, Volume 9, January, April, July 1916, reprinted 1992 by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Baltimore, MD.]

Fauquier County was named for Francis Fauquier, lieutenant governor of Virginia from 1758 to 1768. It was formed from Prince William County in 1759, and its area is 651 square miles. The county seat is Warrenton.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Clarke County (north)
  • Loudoun County (north)
  • Prince William County (east)
  • Stafford County (southeast)
  • Culpeper County (southwest)
  • Rappahannock County (west)
  • Warren County (northwest)

Cities and Towns:

- Remington town Incorporated Area
- The Plains town Incorporated Area
- Warrenton (County Seat) town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"