Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Virginia Counties
Virginia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Virginia Counties

The Commonwealth of Virginia is divided into 95 counties and 39 independent cities, which are considered county-equivalents for census purposes.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Giles County, Virginia

Giles County Education, Geography, and History

County Seat: Pearisburg
Year Organized: 1806
Square Miles: 358
Court House:

315 N. Main
County Administration Building
Pearisburg, VA 24134-1633

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Giles is named for U.S. Senator from Virginia William Branch Giles.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Giles County, Virginia formed from Montgomery, Monroe, Tazewell, Craig, Mercer, and Wythe Counties. Montgomery, Monroe, and Tazewell appear to be original contributors with Wythe County contributing a small portion in 1823-1824. Tazewell County gave additionally from 1825-1828, 1835-1837. Monroe County contributed again from 1828-1829. Mercer County contributed in 1840-1841, 1857-1858, and 1861. Craig County contributed in 1879-1880 and 1800-1900. [Virginia Counties: Those Resulting from Virginia Legislation, by Morgan Poitiaux Robinson, originally published as Bulletin of the Virginia State Library, Volume 9, January, April, July 1916, reprinted 1992 by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Baltimore, MD.]

Giles County was named for William Branch Giles, United States senator from Virginia, in 1806. It was formed from Tazewell, Monroe and Montgomery Counties. Part of Wythe County was added in 1808, parts of Tazewell County were added in 1826 and 1836, part of Monroe County was added in 1829, parts of Mercer (West Virginia) County were added in 1840-1841, and part of Craig County was added in 1858. Its area is 363 square miles, and the county seat is Pearisburg.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 360 square miles (933 km2), of which, 357 square miles (925 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) of it (0.85%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Bland County, VA to the southwest
  • Craig County, VA to the east
  • Mercer County, WV to the northwest
  • Monroe County, WV to the north
  • Montgomery County, VA to the south
  • Pulaski County, VA to the south
  • Summers County, WV to the north


Virginia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools