Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Broward County, Florida

Broward County Education, Geography, and HistoryBroward County, Florida Courthouse

Broward County is a county located in the state of Florida. As of 2010, the population was 1,748,066, making it the second-most populous county in Florida and the 18th-most populous in the United States. Broward County was created on April 30, 1915 from Dade County and Palm Beach County. The county seat is Fort Lauderdale.  This county is named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward (1857-1910), 19th Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909.

Broward County is part of the Miami Metropolitan Area.

Etymology - Origin of Broward County Name

It was named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Broward County History

Broward County was created in 1915. The county is named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909. In 1915, Palm Beach County and Dade County contributed nearly equal portions of land to create Broward County. The county seat is Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Broward was formed from portions of Dade and Palm Beach Counties in 1915 and named for former Florida governor Napoleon Bonaparte Broward.

In less than a century, a land "unfit for human habitation" has been turned in to the permanent home of over a million people and the winter residence of tens of thousands more.

In earlier times, it could not have happened. Today's Broward County is very much a product of the industrial age. The sun and sand and sea have been here for millennia, but the roads, railroads and seaport are new additions which have vastly transformed the area's landscape.

A Short History of Broward County

for the Broward County Historical Commission

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,320 square miles (3,418 km2).Approximately two-thirds - 847 square miles (2,194 km2) - of the county's area lies in an undeveloped Everglades conservation area. 1,205 square miles (3,122 km2) of the county's area is land and 114 square miles (296 km2) of it is water. The total area is 8.66% water.

Broward county is located in southeast Florida. The urban area is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Everglades National Park to the west.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Palm Beach County
  • East: North Atlantic Ocean
  • South: Miami-Dade County
  • West: Collier County
  • Northwest: Hendry County


Primary and secondary schools

Broward County Schools currently has the sixth largest school district in the country and the second largest in the state after Dade.

Accredited Colleges and universities

  • Broward College
  • Florida Atlantic University Campus Locations - Main Campus in Palm Beach County
  • Nova Southeastern University
  • Keiser University

Other Adult Education Providers

  • DeVry University
  • University of Phoenix
  • The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale
  • Florida Career College
  • Brown Mackie College
  • Atlantic Technical Center and Technical High School
  • McFatter Technical College and Technical High School
  • Sheridan Technical College and Technical High School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge