Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Charlotte County, Florida

Charlotte County Education, Geography, and HistoryCharlotte County, Florida Courthouse

Charlotte County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 159,978. Charlotte County was created on April 23, 1921 from DeSoto County. The county seat is Punta Gorda, Florida. This county is named from a version of the name of the Calusa, a group of Native Americans from the area.

Charlotte County comprises the Punta Gorda, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the North Port-Sarasota, FL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Charlotte County Name

The county is named for the Bay of Charlotte Harbor. "Charlotte" came from "Carlos" (English) or "Calos" (Calusa Indian).


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Charlotte County History

Charlotte County was established April 23, 1921. The county is named for the Bay of Charlotte Harbor. "Charlotte" came from "Carlos" (English) or "Calos" (Calusa Indian). In 1565, the Spanish named "Carlos Bay," followed by the English in 1775 who named the area Charlotte Harbor in tribute to the Queen Charlotte Sophia, wife of King George III. Punta Gorda is the only incorporated city in Charlotte County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 859 square miles (2,225 km2), of which, 694 square miles (1,796 km2) of it is land and 166 square miles (429 km2) of it (19.27%) is water.

 Charlotte county is located close to the center of Florida. Charlotte Harbor Estuary is an important natural preserve and one of the most productive in Florida.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Sarasota County; DeSoto County
  • Northeast: Highlands County
  • East: Glades County
  • Southeast: Hendry County
  • South: Lee County
  • West: Gulf of Mexico


Florida SouthWestern State College maintains a campus in the county. Southern Technical College operates a campus in the county.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge