Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Columbia County, Florida

Columbia County Education, Geography, and HistoryColumbia County, Florida Courthouse

Columbia County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 67,531. Columbia County was created on February 4, 1832 from Alachua County. The county seat is Lake City.
This county is named for Christopher Columbus (c. 1451-1506), explorer of the Americas.

Columbia County comprises the Lake City, FL Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Gainesville-Lake City, FL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Columbia County Name

This county is named for Christopher Columbus (c. 1451-1506), explorer of the Americas. Columbia is a New Latin neologism, based on the surname of the discoverer Christopher Columbus.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Columbia County History

Columbia County was established on February 04, 1832 from a portion of Alachua County, as the fifteenth county in Florida. Columbia County was named in the honor of Christopher Columbus. In 1858 Suwannee County was cut from a portion of Columbia County. The County Seat for Columbia County, is Lake City, Florida. Lake City was once the location of a large village established by none other than the famous explorer, Hernando DeSoto. The area now known as Lake City, was in the early days known as Halpata Telofa, which may have come from the name of a chief of an Indian Village that was also, at one time, found in the area known today as Lake City. The chief's name was Halpatter Tustenuggee, said to mean "Alligator."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 801 square miles (2,075 km2), of which, 797 square miles (2,064 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (10 km2) of it (0.50%) is water.

Columbia county is located in north Florida. Part of Osceola National Forest is located in Columbia county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Clinch County, Ga.; Ware County, Ga.
  • Northeast: Baker County
  • Southeast: Union County; Alachua County
  • Southwest: Gilchrist County
  • West: Suwannee County
  • Northwest: Hamilton County; Echols County, Ga.


The Columbia County School District operates public schools.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge