Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Franklin County, Florida

Franklin County Education, Geography, and HistoryFranklin County, Florida Courthouse

Franklin County is a county along the Gulf of Mexico in the Florida panhandle of the US state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,549, making it the third-least populous county in Florida. Franklin County was created on February 8, 1832 from Gadsden County and Washington County. The county seat is Apalachicola, Florida. This county is named for Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), one of the Founding Fathers of the United States of America.

The county includes several large preserved areas and rivers and has been home to commercial timber and fishing industry. More recently it has become popular for tourism and retirement. It includes several rivers, state parks, and islands.

Etymology - Origin of Franklin County Name

The county is named for Benjamin Franklin, author, scientist and printer.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Franklin County History

Franklin County was created in 1832. The county is named for Benjamin Franklin, famous scientist, printer, and author.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,037 square miles (2,687 km2), of which, 544 square miles (1,410 km2) of it is land and 493 square miles (1,277 km2) of it (47.53%) is water.

Franklin county is located in northwest Florida. The county includes part of Tate's Hell State Forest and Bald Point State Park is nearby. The county's river's include the Carrabelle River and its tributaries the New River (Florida Panhandle) and Crooked River (Florida). The extreme eastern tip of the county is bordered by the Ochlockonee River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Liberty County
  • Northeast: Wakulla County
  • South: Gulf of Mexico
  • Northwest: Gulf County


Franklin County residents are within the Franklin County School District. All Students K-12 attend the Franklin County School at Eastpoint, FL, except those attending the Apalachicola Bay Charter School or other private schools.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge