Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Lafayette County, Florida

Lafayette County Education, Geography, and HistoryLafayette County, Florida Courthouse

Lafayette County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,870, making it the second-least populous county in Florida.  Lafayette County was created on December 23, 1856 from Madison County. The county seat is Mayo. This county is named for Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834), French aristocrat and general in the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Lafayette County Name

This county is named for Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834), French aristocrat and general in the American Revolutionary War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lafayette County History

Lafayette County was created in 1856. Named in honor of Marquis de Lafayette, a French military hero who fought with and aided the American Army during the American Revolutionary War. The county courts first met at the home of Ariel Jones near Fayetteville. The county seat was moved to Mayo from New Troy in 1893.

Lafayette County is a prohibition or entirely dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 548 square miles (1,419 km2), of which, 543 square miles (1,406 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (13 km2) of it (0.93%) is water.

Lafayette county is located close to the center of Florida. The county is home to thousands of acres of southern pine forests and swamps and is still rather sparsely populated. The Suwannee River forms the entire eastern boundary of Lafayette, between Suwannee and Gilchrist counties. The Steinhatchee river runs through the county on its way to the Gulf of Mexico in neighboring Taylor County. Lafayette county is also home to many ponds, lakes, creeks, streams, hammocks and Mallory Swamp. The county is nestled between Madison, Taylor, Dixie, Suwannee and Gilchrist Counties.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Suwannee County
  • Southeast: Gilchrist County
  • South: Dixie County
  • West: Taylor County
  • Northwest: Madison County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge