Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Liberty County, Florida

Liberty County Education, Geography, and HistoryLiberty County, Florida Courthouse

Liberty County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,365, making it the least populous county in Florida. Liberty County was created on December 15, 1855 from Gadsden County. The county seat and only city is Bristol. This county is named for the patriotic ideal of liberty.

The Apalachicola National Forest occupies half the county.

Etymology - Origin of Liberty County Name

This county is named for the patriotic ideal of liberty.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Liberty County History

Liberty County was created in 1855.  The county is named for the popular American ideal of liberty.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 843 square miles (2,184 km2), of which, 836 square miles (2,165 km2) of it is land and 7 square miles (19 km2) of it (0.86%) is water.

 Liberty county is located in northwest Florida. The county is bordered on the west by the Appalachicola River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Gadsden County; Leon County
  • East: Wakulla County
  • South: Franklin County
  • Southwest: Gulf County
  • Northwest: Calhoun County; Jackson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge