Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Marion County, Florida

Marion County Education, Geography, and HistoryMarion County, Florida Courthouse

Marion County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 331,298. Marion County was created on March 14, 1844 from Alachua County and Mosquito County. The county seat is Ocala. This county is named for Francis Marion (c. 1732-1795), military officer during the American Revolution.

Marion County comprises the Ocala, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Marion County Name

This county is named for Francis Marion (c. 1732-1795), military officer during the American Revolution.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marion County History

Marion County was created in 1844 from portions of Alachua, Mosquito (Orange), and Hillsborough counties. Until 1853, Marion County included most of what are now Lake and Sumter counties. The county is named after General Francis Marion of South Carolina, a guerilla fighter and hero of the American Revolutionary War. Many of the early settlers of Marion County were from South Carolina.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,663 square miles (4,307 km2), of which, 1,579 square miles (4,089 km2) of it is land and 84 square miles (218 km2) of it (5.06%) is water.

Marion county is located close to the center of Florida. The County is generally composed of rolling hills. Most of its trees consist of live oaks, pine, and palm trees. Marion County is considered the southernmost county in North Central Florida, and the northernmost county in Central Florida.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Putnam County
  • East: Volusia County
  • Southeast: Lake County
  • South: Sumter County
  • Southwest: Citrus County
  • West: Levy County
  • Northwest: Alachua County


County public education is supervised under the Marion County School District.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge