Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Nassau County, Florida

Nassau County Education, Geography, and HistoryNassau County, Florida Courthouse

Nassau County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 73,314. Nassau County was created on December 29, 1824 from Duval County. The county seat is Fernandina Beach. This county is named for the Duchy of Nassau in Germany.

Nassau County is part of the Jacksonville, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Nassau County Name

This county is named for the Duchy of Nassau in Germany.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Nassau County History

Nassau County was created in 1824. The county is named for the Duchy of Nassau in Germany.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,880 km2 (726 sq mi). 1,688 km2 (652 sq mi) of it is land and 192 km2 (74 sq mi) of it is water, much of it in the Atlantic Ocean. The total area is 10.24% water.

 Nassau county is located in north Florida. Fernandina Beach is located on Amelia Island, the county's one inhabited island.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Camden County, Ga.
  • East: North Atlantic Ocean
  • South: Duval County
  • Southwest: Baker County
  • West: Charlton County, Ga.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge