Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Sarasota County, Florida

Sarasota County Education, Geography, and HistorySarasota County, Florida Courthouse

Sarasota County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 379,448. Sarasota County was created on May 14, 1921 from Manatee County. The county seat is Sarasota. This county is named for Native American word from Calusa Indian language, meaning not known, but perhaps "Point of Rocks".

Sarasota County is included in the North Port-Sarasota-Bradenton, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Sarasota County Name

 This county is named for Native American word  from Calusa Indian language, meaning not known, but perhaps "Point of Rocks".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sarasota County History

Sarasota County was created in 1921. The origin of the name is unknown. The county may be named for a word in the indigenous Calusa language, whose meaning may be "point of rocks" or "Place of the Dance." Some believe it was named after the daughter of famous explorer Hernando de Soto's daughter Sara. According the Florida League of Cities, the name first appeared in print as "Zarazote" on a 1763 land grant map.

The largest city is North Port. A majority (over 60%) of Sarasota County's residents live in unincorporated areas outside of its four municipalities.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 725 square miles (1,878 km2), of which, 572 square miles (1,480 km2) of it is land and 154 square miles (398 km2) of it (21.19%) is water. Sarasota county is located close to the center of Florida.

 The preserve areas in this county are, Bayonne Parcel, Circus Hammock, Curry Creek Preserve, Deer Prairie Creek, Jelks Preserve, Lemon Bay Preserve, Manasota Scrub Preserve, Myakka Islands Point, Old Miakka Preserve, Pinelands Reserve, Pocono Trail Preserve, Red Bug Slough, Sleeping Turtles South, Sleeping Turtles North, South Lemon Bay Preserve, and T. Mabry Carlton Reserve.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Manatee County
  • East: DeSoto County
  • Southeast: Charlotte County
  • Southwest: Gulf of Mexico


Primary and secondary education

Sarasota County Public Schools - Public K-12 School district serving all of Sarasota County

Higher education

  • New College of Florida - Public liberal arts college. Honors college of the state of Florida.
  • University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee - Branch campus of USF.
  • Ringling College of Art and Design - A private, 4 year, not-for-profit, fully accredited college with concentrations in art and design.
  • Keiser University Sarasota - Branch campus of Keiser University.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge