Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

St. Lucie County, Florida

St. Lucie County Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Lucie County, Florida Courthouse

St. Lucie County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 277,789.  St. Lucie County was created on May 24, 1905 from Brevard County. The county seat is Fort Pierce.  This county is named for Saint Lucy (283-304), the Christian martyr.

St. Lucie County is included in the Port St. Lucie, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-Port St. Lucie, FL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of St. Lucie County Name

 This county is named for Saint Lucy (283-304), the Christian martyr.   St. Lucie of Syracuse, Roman Catholic Saint. Lucie was Born in Sicily and was executed in 304 AD for being a Christian.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

St. Lucie County History

The current St. Lucie County was created in 1905 from the southern part of Brevard County. Brevard County had been named St. Lucie County from 1844 until 1855 when it was renamed Brevard County. In 1925, Indian River County was created out of the northern part of St Lucie County, while Martin County was created from a small part of southeastern St. Lucie County and the northern part of Palm Beach County. Much of western St Lucie County had gone in 1917 to form Okeechobee County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 688 square miles (1,782 km2), of which, 572 square miles (1,483 km2) of it is land and 116 square miles (299 km2) of it is water, much of it in the Atlantic Ocean. The total area is 16.80% water.

 St. Lucie county is  located on the east coast of Florida about 120 miles southeast of Orlando and about 115 miles north of Miami.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Indian River County
  • East: North Atlantic Ocean
  • South: Martin County
  • West: Okeechobee County


Schools in the county are managed by St. Lucie County Public Schools.

Florida Atlantic University Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
Indian River State College Ft. Pierce and PSL Campus
Keiser University PSL Campus
University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, Ft. Pierce
Barry University PSL Campus

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge