Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

There are sixty-seven counties in the state of Florida. In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today. Its last county was created in 1925 with the formation of Gilchrist County from a segment of Alachua County.

Walton County, Florida

Walton County Education, Geography, and HistoryWalton County, Florida Courthouse

Walton County is a county located in the state of Florida. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 55,043. Walton County was created on December 29, 1824 from Escambia County and Jackson County. The county seat is DeFuniak Springs. This county is named for George Walton, first Secretary of Florida Territory.

Walton County is included in the Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Walton County Name

This county is named for George Walton, first Secretary of Florida Territory.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Walton County History

Walton County was created in 1824. The county is named for George Walton, Secretary of the Florida territory from 1821 to 1826.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,238 square miles (3,206 km2), of which, 1,058 square miles (2,739 km2) of it is land and 180 square miles (467 km2) of it (14.58%) is water.

 Walton county is located in northwest Florida.  The county is home to the highest natural point in Florida: Britton Hill, at 345 feet (105 m).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Geneva County, Ala.; Holmes County
  • East: Washington County
  • Southeast: Bay County
  • South: Gulf of Mexico
  • West: Okaloosa County
  • Northwest: Covington County, Ala.


The county is served by the Walton County School District.

  • Bay Elementary, Santa Rosa Beach
  • Chautauqua Charter School, DeFuniak Springs
  • Emerald Coast Middle School, Santa Rosa Beach
  • Freeport Elementary, Freeport
  • Freeport High School, Freeport
  • Freeport Middle School, Freeport
  • Maude Saunders Middle School, DeFuniak Springs
  • Mossy Head Elementary, DeFuniak Springs
  • Paxton School, Paxton
  • Seaside School, Seaside
  • South Walton High School, Santa Rosa Beach
  • Van R. Butler Elementary, Santa Rosa Beach
  • Walton Academy, DeFuniak Springs
  • Walton High School, DeFuniak Springs
  • Walton Middle School, DeFuniak Springs
  • West DeFuniak Elementary, DeFuniak Springs

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge