Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Augusta-Richmond County, Georgia

Augusta-Richmond County Education, Geography, and HistoryRichmond County, Georgia Courthouse

Richmond County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 200,549. Richmond County was created on February 5, 1777 from St Paul Parish. The county seat is Augusta. The county is named in honor of Charles Lennox, 3rd Duke of Richmond (1735 - 1806), who was sympathetic to the cause of colonial independence.

Richmond County is included in the Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Richmond County Name

Richmond County was named for the Duke of Richmond, a British defender of the colonists' cause.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Richmond County History

Richmond County, Georgia's 7th, was created in 1777. Originally including Columbia, Glascock and McDuffie counties, plus parts of Warren and Jefferson counties, Richmond County was named for the Duke of Richmond, a British defender of the colonists' cause. It was first known as the Parish of St. Paul.

Following an election in 1995, the city of Augusta (the county seat) consolidated governments with Richmond County. The consolidated entity is known as Augusta-Richmond County, or simply Augusta. The cities of Hephzibah and Blythe in southern Richmond County voted to remain separate and not consolidate.

Augusta was the capital of Georgia from 1785 to 1795, and is the second oldest city in Georgia. The city was named for the Princess of Wales.

Hephzibah is one of Georgia's oldest settlements and was originally the home of the Uchee Indians.

In 1995, voters in Augusta and Richmond County agreed to consolidate the city and county governments. Augusta-Richmond County is the third consolidated government in the state.

The Augusta Canal, completed in 1846 and still in use, is a rare example of a canal built for industrial power supply purposes. The canal played a critical role in Augusta's growth.

Points of Interest

Riverwalk Augusta offers pedestrian access to the Savannah River from a public plaza. The historic Cotton Exchange Building, once the second largest cotton market in the world, now serves as a welcome center and museum located on the Riverwalk.

Other attractions include: National Science Center Fort Discovery, Lucy Craft Laney Museum of Black History, Woodrow's Wilson's Childhood home and Cotton Exchange Welcome Center and Museum.

Augusta is the home of the famed Augusta National Country Club and the Masters Golf Tournament, one of men's golf's four "majors".

The Morris Museum of Art, located in Richmond County, has the largest collection of Southern Art in the world.

The Fort Gordon Military Reservation is located in Richmond County.

Notable Citizens

Jessye Norman, internationally known opera diva, was born and raised in Augusta. James Brown, the "Godfather of Soul", was also raised in the city. Also, native Frank Yerby, acclaimed poet and author of A Woman Called Fancy , The Vixens and The Foxes of Harow was a notable resident of the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 329 square miles (850 km2), of which 324 square miles (840 km2) is land and 4.3 square miles (11 km2) (1.3%) is water.

 Richmond county is located in northeast Georgia. The county is in the Savannah River basin. Richmond County is made up of three incorporated municipalities: Augusta, Hephzibah, and Blythe.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Edgefield County, South Carolina (north)
  • Aiken County, South Carolina (northeast)
  • Burke County (south)
  • Jefferson County (southwest)
  • McDuffie County (west)
  •  Columbia County (northwest)


Higher Education

Medical College of Georgia, Paine College, Augusta Technical College and Augusta State University

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge