Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Bacon County, Georgia

Bacon County Education, Geography, and HistoryBacon County, Georgia Courthouse

Bacon County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,096. Bacon County was created on July 27, 1914 from Appling County, Pierce County and Ware County. The county seat is Alma. The county is named after Augustus Bacon, a former United States Senator from Georgia.

Etymology - Origin of Bacon County Name

The county is named for was named for Senator Augustus O. Bacon, a four-term US Senator who died in office.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Bacon County History

Georgia's 149th county was named for Senator Augustus O. Bacon, a four-term US Senator who died in office.

Alma's name is an acronym composed from the first letters in the names of Georgia's four state capitals: Augusta, Louisville, Milledgeville, and Atlanta. Alma is the only incorporated municipality in Bacon County.

There are three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places in Bacon County: the Bacon County Courthouse, the Alma Depot, and the Rabinowitz Building.

Points of Interest

Alma and Bacon County share a 110-acre recreational area for team sports, swimming and picnicking. Additionally, four city-owned parks and six privately owned facilities provide many recreational opportunities.

There are two wildlife management areas in the county, the Bacon Area and the Whitehead Creek Area, both which allow hunting.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 286 square miles (740 km2), of which 259 square miles (670 km2) is land and 27 square miles (70 km2) (9.5%) is water.

 Bacon county is located in southeast Georgia. Two wildlife management areas, the Bacon Area and Whitehead Creek Area are located in this county. Bacon is in the Satilla River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Appling County
  • Southeast: Pierce County
  • South: Ware County
  • West: Coffee County
  • Northwest: Jeff Davis County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge