Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Baldwin County, Georgia

Baldwin County Education, Geography, and HistoryBaldwin County, Georgia Courthouse

Baldwin County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 46,337.  Baldwin County was created on June 27, 1806 from Creek cessions of 1802 and 1805.  The county seat is Milledgeville. The county is named in honor of Abraham Baldwin (1754 - 1807), a Founding Father, a US Senator (1799 - 1807), one of the Georgia delegates who signed the US Constitution.

Baldwin County is part of the Milledgeville, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Baldwin County Name

The county is named for Abraham Baldwin, a member of the Continental Congress and author of the bill to create the nation's first state university, now the University of Georgia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Baldwin County History

Georgia's 27th county was named for Abraham Baldwin, a member of the Continental Congress and author of the bill to create the nation's first state university, now the University of Georgia.

Milledgeville was laid out in 1803, designated as the state capital in 1804, and incorporated in 1806. The city served as state capital until that honor was transferred to Atlanta on April 20, 1868. Milledgeville, named for Governor John Milledge, is the county's only incorporated city.

The historic district of Milledgeville includes the Old State Capitol and Governor's Mansion, as well as a number of noteworthy private homes. According to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Milledgeville is the only surviving example of a complete "Federal Period" city. It is also the only city designed specifically to be a state capital.

Points of Interest

With 15,330 acres of water and 417 miles of shoreline, Lake Sinclair is an important recreational resource for the county.

The State of Georgia has a strong presence in the county with the Middle Georgia Correctional Institution, Central State Hospital, the Youth Development Center, and two University System units.

Notable Citizens

Notable Georgians from Baldwin County include the Honorable Carl Vinson, who served Georgia as a US Congressman for 50 years; writer Flannery O'Connor; and comedian Oliver Hardy. Georgia College's Ina Dillard Russell Library is home of the Flannery O'Connor Collection and includes manuscripts by O'Connor and her personal collection of more than 700 books and journals.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 267 square miles (690 km2), of which 258 square miles (670 km2) is land and 9.6 square miles (25 km2) (3.6%) is water.

 Baldwin county is located close to the center of Georgia.  The majority of Baldwin County, south of Lake Sinclair, is located in the Lower Oconee River sub-basin of the Altamaha River basin. The northern portion of the county is located in the Upper Oconee River sub-basin of the same Altamaha River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Hancock County
  • Southeast: Washington County; Wilkinson County
  • West: Jones County
  • Northwest: Putnam County


Georgia College and State University, Central Georgia Technical College, and Georgia Military College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge