Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Burke County, Georgia

Burke County Education, Geography, and HistoryBurke County, Georgia Courthouse

Burke County is a county located along the eastern border of the state of Georgia in the Piedmont. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 23,316.  Burke County was created on February 5, 1777 as one of seven original parishes (Originally organized as St George Parish). The county seat is Waynesboro. The county is named in honor of Edmund Burke (1729-1797), British political philosopher and Member of Parliament who was sympathetic to the cause of United States independence.

Burke County is part of the Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Burke County Name

 The county is named for English political writer, member of the British Parliament and supporter of the colonies' interests, Edmond Burke.


County QuickFacts:

Burke County History

Burke County was one of Georgia's original eight counties. Originally organized as the Parish of St. George, Burke County was named for English political writer, member of the British Parliament and supporter of the colonies' interests, Edmond Burke.

Known as the "Bird Dog Capital of the World," Waynesboro was named for General Anthony "Mad Anthony" Wayne, a famous Revolutionary soldier.

Points of Interest

Georgia Power Company's Alvin W. Vogtle Nuclear Power Plant is located in the county on the Savannah River and began operation in the late 1980s.

Notable Citizens

Burke County claims ten Georgia Governors by birth, residence, or marriage. Lyman Hall, Georgia signer of the Declaration of Independence and member of the Continental Congress, had a plantation in the county. The other nine Governors with Burke County ties are John Houston, Samuel Elbert, Edward Telfair, Jared Irwin, James Jackson, David Emanuel, William Schley, Herschel V. Johnson and Hoke Smith.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 835 square miles (2,160 km2), of which 827 square miles (2,140 km2) is land and 8.0 square miles (21 km2) (1.0%) is water.

 Burke county is located in east Georgia. The county is the second-largest county by area in Georgia. Burke county is in the Ogeechee River basin and the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Richmond County
  • Northeast: Aiken County, S.C.; Barnwell County, S.C.
  • East: Allendale County, S.C.
  • Southeast: Screven County
  • South: Jenkins County
  • Southwest: Emanuel County
  • West: Jefferson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge