Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Chattooga County, Georgia

Chattooga County Education, Geography, and HistoryChattooga County, Georgia Courthouse

Chattooga County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 26,015. The county was created on December 28, 1838. The county seat is Summerville. The county is named in honor of Chattooga River.

Chattooga County comprises the Summerville, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Rome-Summerville Combined Statistical Area.

Summerville is the site of the Chattooga County Courthouse. The county is home to several properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places listings in Chattooga County, Georgia.

Etymology - Origin of Chattooga County Name

The county is named for the Chattooga River, one of two Georgia rivers bearing that name.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Chattooga County History

Chattooga County was formed from parts of Floyd and Walker counties. It takes its name from the Chattooga River, one of two Georgia rivers bearing that name.

The county courthouse in Summerville was built in 1909 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Points of Interest

Much of the Armuchee Ranger District, a 65,000-acre section of the Chattahoochee National Forest, lies within the county. Taylor Ridge and Johns Mountain are two of its most prominent features. Over 6,400 acres of Johns Mountain were recently proposed as a National Scenic Area.

Some of the more popular recreational activities in the county include hiking, camping, mountain climbing and rappelling in the Lookout Mountain range, and canoeing down the Armuchee Creek. Genealogist and Civil War enthusiasts seek information from the various cemeteries and historical sites.

Chattooga Lakes Park is a new park about three miles southeast of Summerville.

Notable Citizens

Several famous people are from Chattooga County. George Guest, known as Sequoyah, was the leader of the Cherokees and is credited with developing the Cherokee written alphabet. Ralph "Country" Brown was a popular center fielder for the Atlanta Crackers baseball team. Brown was inducted into the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame. Bobby Lee Cook, an internationally known and respected trial lawyer, grew up in Chattooga County and has built a major international practice as a defense attorney. Finally, the Reverend Howard Finster, the internationally acclaimed Visionary Artist has his artwork featured at Paradise Gardens.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 314 square miles (810 km2), of which 313 square miles (810 km2) is land and 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (0.07%) is water.

 Chattooga county is located in northwest Georgia. The county is in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Walker County
  • East: Gordon County
  • Southeast: Floyd County
  • Southwest: Cherokee County, Ala.
  • West: DeKalb County, Ala.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge