Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Coffee County, Georgia

Coffee County Education, Geography, and HistoryCoffee County, Georgia Courthouse

Coffee County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 42,356. Coffee County was created on February 9, 1854. The county seat is Douglas. The county is named in honor of General John E. Coffee (1782 - 1836), a hero of the War of 1812.

Coffee County comprises the Douglas, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Coffee County Name

The county is named for General John Coffee, who fought in the region's Indian wars and was a hero of the War of 1812.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Coffee County History

Coffee County, was created in 1854 from parts of Clinch, Irwin, Telfair, and Ware counties. Georgia's 107th county was named for General John Coffee, who fought in the region's Indian wars and was a hero of the War of 1812.

DeSoto's Spanish soldiers were probably the first Europeans to set foot in this area.

Douglas was named for Stephen A. Douglas, Lincoln's opponent in the 1860 Presidential race.

Points of Interest

Coffee County is home to Broxton Rocks. These leopard-colored cliffs offer a botanist's dream of rare and endangered flora along with the largest and most dramatic outcrop of ancient sandstone anywhere on the coastal plain of the Southeastern US

General Coffee State Park is 1,490 acres of swimming, fishing, hiking, and camping. The park also features Pioneer Village, a 19th-century village complete with log cabins, chicken coop, smoke house, corn crib, and other exhibits.

The county is part of the Wiregrass Region. This area encompasses the southern third of the state and is named for the "wiregrass" which grows among the tall Georgia pines.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 603 square miles (1,560 km2), of which 575 square miles (1,490 km2) is land and 28 square miles (73 km2) (4.6%) is water.

Coffee county is located in south Georgia. The county is mostly in the Satilla River basin with small portions in the Ocmulgee River basin and the Suwannee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Telfair County
  • Northeast: Jeff Davis County
  • East: Bacon County
  • Southeast: Ware County
  • South: Atkinson County
  • Southwest: Berrien County
  • West: Irwin County
  • Northwest: Ben Hill County


Higher Education

South Georgia College, the state's first publicly supported junior college.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge