Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Colquitt County, Georgia

Colquitt County Education, Geography, and HistoryColquitt County, Georgia Courthouse

Colquitt County is a county in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 45,498. The county was created February 25, 1856.  The county seat is Moultrie.  Colquitt is named for Walter Terry Colquitt, a US senator.

Colquitt County comprises the Moultrie, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Colquitt County Name

Georgia's 115th county was named for
US Senator Walter T. Colquitt (1799-1855), who died the previous year.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Colquitt County History

Colquitt County was created on Feb. 25, 1856 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1855-56, p. 108). Created from Lowndes and Thomas counties, Colquitt's original boundaries were designated as:

SECTION I. Be it enacted, & c., That from and after the first day of April next a new county shall be laid out and organized from the counties of Thomas and Lowndes, including the eighth district of originally Irwin now Thomas county and all that portion of the ninth district of originally Irwin now Lowndes lying west of Little river to where the river crosses the dividing line, between Lots of Land Nos. 443 and 444, in the 9th district, thence south to the district line between the 9th and 12th districts.

The 1902 Neoclassical Revival Courthouse stands in the center of Moultrie's town square. The courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is currently undergoing renovations.

Moultrie was named for General William Moultrie, a Revolutionary War leader.

Points of Interest

With its long growing season and varied types of soils, the county has traditionally been a state leader in agricultural production. Despite the county's agricultural strength, manufacturing has still replaced farming as the largest employment sector in the county.

Colquitt County is the home of a world class diving well at the Moose Moss Aquatic Center. Moultrie is host to local, state, national, and international diving tournaments. The center served as a training site for the 1996 Olympic Games.

Colquitt County also contains eight quail hunting preserves and is a mecca for hunting bobwhite quail, wild turkey, deer, and dove.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 557 square miles (1,440 km2), of which 544 square miles (1,410 km2) is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) (2.2%) is water.

 Colquitt county is located in south Georgia. The county is in the Ochlockonee River basin, the Suwannee River basin and the Flint River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Worth County
  • Northeast: Tift County
  • East: Cook County
  • Southeast: Brooks County
  • Southwest: Thomas County
  • West: Mitchell County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge