Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Columbus-Muscogee County, Georgia

Columbus-Muscogee County Education, Geography, and HistoryMuscogee County, Georgia Courthouse

Muscogee County is a county located on the central western border of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 189,885. Muscogee County was created on June 9, 1825 from Creek Cession of 1826. The county seat and only city is Columbus, with which it has been a consolidated city-county since the beginning of 1971. The county is named in honor of Muskogee ethnic group, to which the Creek and Seminole Nations belong.

Muscogee County is part of Columbus, GA-AL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Muscogee County Name

The county is named for the Muscogee Indians, whose family included the Creek and Seminoles.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Muscogee County History

Muscogee County was acquired from Creek Indian territory in 1826 and was the 69th county established. The county is named for the Muscogee Indians, whose family included the Creek and Seminoles.

Columbus-Muscogee County was Georgia's first consolidated city-county government. Bibb City is a small enclave within Columbus that was created as a mill village.

The last land battle of the Civil War was fought at Columbus, one week after General Robert E. Lee's surrender at Appomattox.

Points of Interest

Fort Benning Military Reservation encompasses the southeastern part of the county. The base is one of the area's largest employers.

Noteworthy historical sites in the county include: the Springer Opera House, built in 1871, which is now the State Theater of Georgia; the Columbus Museum; the Confederate Naval Museum; and the Columbus Historical District which includes the Columbus Ironworks, built in 1853.

The newest point of interest in Columbus is the South Commons Complex, a collection of sports facilities in one location. The centerpiece of the complex is the Columbus Civic Center. Opened in 1996, this 10,000 seat venue is a true multi-purpose facility. It is home to the Columbus Cottonmouths hockey team.

Notable Citizens

Robert Winship Woodruff, a noted industrialist and philanthropist from Muscogee County, became the president of the Coca-Cola Company at the age of 33. Dr. John Pemberton, the inventor of the Coke formula, also lived in Columbus.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 221 square miles (570 km2), of which 216 square miles (560 km2) is land and 4.6 square miles (12 km2) (2.1%) is water.

 Muscogee county is located in west Georgia. The county is in the Chattahoochee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Harris County (north)
  • Talbot County (northeast)
  • Chattahoochee County (south)
  • Russell County, Alabama (southwest)
  • Lee County, Alabama (west)


Higher Education

Columbus State University, Columbus Technical College and Troy State University at Ft. Benning


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge