Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Coweta County, Georgia

Coweta County Education, Geography, and HistoryCoweta County, Georgia Courthouse

Coweta County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 127,317. Coweta County was created on June 9, 1825. The county seat is Newnan.
The county is named in honor of Coweta tribe of the Creek Nation and their village near Columbus.

Coweta County is included in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Coweta County Name

The county is named after the Coweta Indians, a Creek tribe headed by William McIntosh, Jr., the half-Scott, half Creek who relinquished lands to the Federal government in the 1825 Treaty of Indian Springs.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Coweta County History

Georgia's 67th county bears the name of the Coweta Indians, a Creek tribe headed by William McIntosh, Jr., the half-Scott, half Creek who relinquished lands to the Federal government in the 1825 Treaty of Indian Springs.

Newnan was named for General Daniel Newnan who fought in the Indian Wars, the War of 1812, and later served in the Georgia General Assembly.

Points of Interest

Newnan was home at various times to the Male Academy and to the College Temple, a prestigious school which was the first to offer a Master of Arts for women.

The Chattahoochee-Flint Heritage Highway, a scenic highway, runs through Coweta, Troup and Meriwether Counties.

Notable Citizens

Several notable persons have come from Coweta county. Ellis Gibbs Arnall was both an attorney general and governor of Georgia in the Talmadge era. He worked to make Georgia the first state to lower the voting age to 18 and was also successful in repealing the poll tax. Other famous Cowetans include the late columnist and author Lewis Grizzard and novelist Erskine Caldwell (both of whom were from Moreland), author Margaret Ann Barnes, and country superstars Doug Stone and Alan Jackson

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 446 square miles (1,160 km2), of which 441 square miles (1,140 km2) is land and 4.9 square miles (13 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Coweta county is located in northwest Georgia. The county is in the Flint River basin and the Chattahoochee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Fulton County; Fayette County
  • East: Spalding County
  • South: Meriwether County
  • Southwest: Troup County
  • West: Heard County
  • Northwest: Carroll County


The Coweta County School District holds pre-school to grade twelve, and consists of nineteen elementary schools, six middle schools, and three high schools. The district has 1,164 full-time teachers and over 18,389 students. Private schools in the county include The Heritage School and Trinity Christian School.

Mercer University has a Regional Academic Center in Newnan. The center, opened in 2010, offers programs through the university's College of Continuing and Professional Studies. The University of West Georgia has a campus located in Newnan, near I-85. This campus is currently offering two undergraduate programs - Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Early Childhood Education.

Newnan is also home to a campus of West Georgia Technical College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge