Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Crawford County, Georgia

Crawford County Education, Geography, and HistoryCrawford County, Georgia Courthouse

Crawford County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,630. Crawford County was created on December 9, 1822 from Houston County.  The county seat is Knoxville. The county is named in honor of William Harris Crawford (1772-1834), a U.S. Senator, an ambassador to France, and the Secretary of the Treasury.

Crawford County is included in the Macon, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Crawford County Name

The county was named for William H. Crawford, who was US Secretary of the Treasury when the county was created.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

CrawfordCounty History

Crawford County, the 55th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1822 from Creek Indian lands and part of Houston County. Later, parts of Macon and Talbot counties were added. The county was named for William H. Crawford, who was US Secretary of the Treasury when the county was created.

A monument to Joanna Troutman, who designed and made the Lone Star Flag adopted by the State of Texas, can be found on the historic courthouse square. The flag was presented to a group of Georgia volunteers who were en route to help Texas fight in its war of independence in 1835.

In Knoxville, there are several buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places, including the Crawford County Courthouse (1831) and the Crawford County Jail (1882). The Roberta Historic District is also listed.

The county seat, Knoxville, received a charter in 1825, but it is no longer a functioning municipality. It was one of 187 inactive municipalities to lose their charters in 1995 as a result of a 1993 Act of the General Assembly.

Points of Interest

There are 19 archaeological sites in the county that have been filed with the State Archeological Office. The sites include the Indian Agency Reserve on the banks of the Flint River and the Creek habitation area along the Flint River. Benjamin Hawkins, an Indian agent from 1794 to 1816, is buried on this site.

Notable Citizens

Jefferson Franklin Long (1836-1900), the first African American who served in the 41st US Congress, was born near Knoxville in Crawford County. Long was also a delegate to the Republican National Convention in Chicago in 1880.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 326 square miles (840 km2), of which 325 square miles (840 km2) is land and 1.6 square miles (4.1 km2) (0.5%) is water.

 Crawford county is located close to the center of Georgia. The county is in the Flint River basin and the Ocmulgee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Monroe County
  • Northeast: Bibb County
  • Southeast: Peach County
  • Southwest: Taylor County
  • Northwest: Upson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge