Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Dade County, Georgia

Dade County Education, Geography, and HistoryDade County, Georgia Courthouse

Dade County is a county located in the northwestern corner of US state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population is 16,633. Dade County was created on December 25, 1837 from Walker County. The county seat and only incorporated municipality is Trenton. The county is named in honor of Major Francis L. Dade (1793 - 1835), a hero of the Seminole War.

Dade County is part of the Chattanooga, TN-GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Dade County Name

Dade County was named for a Virginian, Major Francis Langhorne Dade, who was killed in 1835 while fighting the Seminoles.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dade County History

Dade County, in Georgia's extreme northwestern corner, was established in 1837, a year before the federal government began removing the original inhabitants, the Cherokee Indians. Carved from western Walker County, it was the 91st county created in the state.

Dade County was named for a Virginian, Major Francis Langhorne Dade, who was killed in 1835 while fighting the Seminoles. Trenton, the county seat, was named after the city in New Jersey.

Located on the "Backside of Lookout Mountain," Dade County was for many years unknown to most Georgians. Until a long-delayed state highway over the mountain was completed in 1948, the only reliable route to the county by automobile was through Alabama or Tennessee. For this reason, the county was known as "The Independent State of Dade."

Points of Interest

The 2,120-acre Cloudland Canyon State Park is located in Dade County. Encompassing a deep gorge cut by Sitton Gulch Creek, the park has several ridges and valleys for hiking and camping.

In the late 1890s Dade County built a new courthouse, jail, and library in downtown Trenton. The old courthouse, a 1926 brick structure listed on the National Register of Historic Places, still stands at the center of the town square.

Interstate 59 bisects the county, passing through a scenic valley between the Lookout Mountain and Sand Mountain plateaus.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 174 square miles (450 km2), of which 174 square miles (450 km2) is land and 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (0.1%) is water.

Dade county is located in northwest Georgia.   Most of Dade County is in the Tennessee River basin; a small southern part of of the county is in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Hamilton County, Tenn.
  • Southeast: Walker County
  • Southwest: DeKalb County, Ala.
  • West: Jackson County, Ala.
  • Northwest: Marion County, Tenn.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge