Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Early County, Georgia

Early County Education, Geography, and HistoryEarly County, Georgia Courthouse

Early County is a county located in the southwest of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,008.  Early county was created by European Americans on December 15, 1818. The county seat is Blakely, home of the Early County Courthouse. The county is named for Peter Early, Governor of Georgia from 1813 to 1815, Superior Court Judge, and member of Congress.

Etymology - Origin of Early County Name

Georgia's 41st county was named for Peter Early, Governor of Georgia from 1813 to 1815, Superior Court Judge, and member of Congress.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Early County History

Early County was created from land obtained from the Creek Indians. The counties of Calhoun, Clay, Decatur, Dougherty, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, and Seminole were all created from territory originally belonging to Early County.

Georgia's 41st county was named for Peter Early, Governor of Georgia from 1813 to 1815, Superior Court Judge, and member of Congress. Blakely, the county seat, was named for Captain Johnson Blakely, a North Carolinian lost at sea during the War of 1812

Points of Interest

Kolomoki Mounds State Park, located in the north central part of Early County, contains a row of mounds of Native American origin dating to around the year 800. One mound believed to have been a temple base is the largest in the United States. The museum interprets seven mounds built during the 12th and 13th centuries by Swift Creek and Weeden Island Indians. The park also features a beautiful lake for canoeing and swimming, primitive and RV camping, and a nature trails for hiking and bird watching.

The southernmost covered bridge in the United States, Coheelee Creek Bridge, is located in the western part of the county. Built for $490 in 1891, the bridge stretches 96 feet across the Coheelee Creek. The bridge was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976 and completely restored in 1984. The area surrounding the bridge is now operated as a historic park, offering creek side trails with native plants and picnic facilities.

As with many counties in Southwest Georgia, peanut farming is a vital component of Early County's economy. Early County is the largest peanut quota holding county in the nation. In recognition of this crop's importance, a statue of a peanut was erected on the square in Blakely in 1954.

Erected in 1861, the only known Confederate Flag Pole is the last remaining wooden Confederate flag pole standing. Located on the north side grounds of the Early County Courthouse in downtown Blakely. This historic landmark is the only one of its kind in the Southeastern area.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 516 square miles (1,340 km2), of which 513 square miles (1,330 km2) is land and 3.8 square miles (9.8 km2) (0.7%) is water.

 Early county is located in southwest Georgia. The county is in the Flint River basin and the Chattahoochee River basin. The county is bordered on the west by the Chattahoochee River..

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Clay County
  • Northeast: Calhoun County
  • East: Baker County
  • Southeast: Miller County
  • South: Seminole County
  • Southwest: Houston County, Ala.
  • Northwest: Henry County, Ala.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge