Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Elbert County, Georgia

Elbert County Education, Geography, and HistoryElbert County, Georgia Courthouse

Elbert County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,166. The county seat is Elberton. The county was created on December 10, 1790. Elbert county is named for Samuel Elbert,  a Revolutionary War hero and an early Governor of Georgia.

Etymology - Origin of Elbert County Name

The county is named for Samuel Elbert, a Revolutionary War hero and an early Governor of Georgia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Elbert County History

Elbert County was formed in 1790 from parts of Wilkes County. Georgia's 13th county and its county seat, Elberton, were named for Samuel Elbert, a Revolutionary War hero and an early Governor of Georgia.

The fork of the Broad and Savannah Rivers was the site of Fort James, built in the Revolutionary War to protect settlers in the nearby community of Dartmouth. After the war, the town of Petersburg was established near the fort and became a thriving tobacco farming center, eventually growing into the third most populous city in the state. Cotton's rise to being the region's primary crop saw Petersburg's demise. The site is now covered by the waters of the Clark Hill Reservoir.

Points of Interest

Elberton is known as the "Granite Capital of the World." Elberton's more than 45 quarries produce more granite monuments than any other area in the world.

In addition to mineral resources, Elbert County is rich in water resources. The Broad River forms the county's western and southern border. The county's eastern border with South Carolina is formed by the Savannah River, which has been dammed to create Lake Richard B. Russell and the Clark Hill Reservoir.

Elbert County is home to the Richard B. Russell and Bobby Brown State Parks, located on the fork of the Broad and Savannah Rivers at the Clark Hill Reservoir.

Notable Citizens

Several notable persons spent time in Elbert County. Nancy Morgan Hart and Stephen Heard, both heroes of the Revolutionary War, lived in Elbert County. Hart (for whom the neighboring county is named) served as a spy for Elijah Clarke and once captured six Tories who came to her home demanding food. Heard established a fort in Georgia in 1773, fought with Elijah Clarke at the Battle of Kettle Creek, and served as President of the Executive Council of Georgia for a short period.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 374 square miles (970 km2), of which 351 square miles (910 km2) is land and 23 square miles (60 km2) (6.2%) is water.

 Elbert county is located in north Georgia. The county is in the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Anderson County, S.C.; Abbeville County, S.C.
  • Southeast: McCormick County, S.C.; Lincoln County
  • South: Wilkes County
  • Southwest: Oglethorpe County
  • West: Madison County
  • Northwest: Hart County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge