Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Floyd County, Georgia

Floyd County Education, Geography, and HistoryFloyd County, Georgia Courthouse

Floyd County is a county located along the northwest border of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 96,317.  Floyd County was created on December 3, 1832 from Cherokee County. The county seat is Rome. The county is named in honor of General John Floyd (1769 - 1839), soldier and a U.S. Congressman.

Floyd County comprises the Rome, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Floyd County Name

The county is named for General John Floyd, a South Carolina Indian fighter and US Congressman. Rome, the county seat, was established in 1834.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

County History

Floyd County was formed from part of Cherokee County in 1832. Georgia's 82nd county was named for General John Floyd, a South Carolina Indian fighter and US Congressman. Rome, the county seat, was established in 1834.

Floyd County has two historic courthouses, both listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Other places of historic note are Rome's City Clock, built in 1872; Myrtle Hill Cemetery, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and resting place of Ellen Axson Wilson, wife of President Woodrow Wilson; and the Capitoline Wolf, a 1,500-pound sculpture given to the City of Rome by Italian dictator Benito Mussolini in 1929.

The original county seat was designated as Livingston in 1833, the county seat was moved to Rome in 1834.

Points of Interest

Cave Spring is known for its antique shops, old residences, and its namesake crystal clear springs. The town features Rolater Park, which includes the world's largest natural springs swimming pool. Cave Spring is also home to the Georgia School for the Deaf.

In northern Floyd County is the $800 million Rocky Mountain pumped storage power plant. Generating enough power for 290,000 households, the plant pumps water to a 550-acre lake on the mountain top, channels the water down a 570-foot vertical shaft and through a 2,500-foot horizontal tunnel to a series of turbines inside the mountain's base.

There are a number of museums in Floyd County including the Chieftans Museum, the Rome Area History Museum and the Eubanks Museum at Shorter College.

Located on the Berry College campus are the Martha Berry Museum and Oak Hill, the Berry family home, commemorating the school's founder and major benefactor.

Notable Citizens

Three Notable Floyd County residents include Martha Berry, noted educator and founder of The Berry School (Berry College); Medora Field Perkerson, author of the "Marie Rose" newspaper column; and Dr. Elizur and Esther Butler, missionaries to the Cherokee Indians.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 518 square miles (1,340 km2), of which 510 square miles (1,300 km2) is land and 8.6 square miles (22 km2) (1.7%) is water.

 Floyd county is located in northwest Georgia. The county is in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Gordon County
  • East: Bartow County
  • South: Polk County
  • West: Cherokee County, Ala.
  • Northwest: Chattooga County


Higher Education

Berry College, Shorter College, Floyd College and Coosa Valley Technical College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge