Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Greene County, Georgia

Greene County Education, Geography, and HistoryGreene County, Georgia Courthouse

Greene County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,994.The county was created on February 3, 1786. The county seat is Greensboro. Greene county is named for Nathanael Greene, an American Revolutionary War major general.

Etymology - Origin of Greene County Name

The county is named for Revolutionary War hero General Nathaniel Greene.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Greene County History

Greene County, the 11th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1786. Originally part of Washington County, Greene County was named for Revolutionary War hero General Nathaniel Greene.

Union Point is at the intersection of two separate railroad lines, and was originally called Scruggsville.

The oldest building in Greensboro is the Old Gaol built on Main Street in 1807.This fortress like structure has granite walls two feet thick and a trap door.

Points of Interest

The second largest lake in Georgia is Lake Oconee located in Green County. Wildlife is found in abundance in and around the lake.

There is a house on Lick Skillet Road in Greensboro that is reputed to be haunted. At Ducaro Hall, built in 1837, footsteps can be heard late at night. At Early Hill, built in 1840, two ghosts appear. One is a man who sits in the rocking chair on the front porch; the other is a small girl who wanders upstairs and in the backyard.

The Green County Courthouse, the Victorian Gothic Jackson House, and the Reynolds Plantation are points of historical interest for visitors

Notable Citizens

There are several historical figures of note from Greene County. Thomas P. Janes was the first Commissioner of Agriculture in Georgia; William C. Dawson was a judge, a US congressman and senator; George Foster Pierce was a Methodist bishop who served as the first president of Wesleyan College and later as president of Emory; and Peter Early was a state senator, congressman and Governor of Georgia.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 406 square miles (1,050 km2), of which 387 square miles (1,000 km2) is land and 19 square miles (49 km2) (4.6%) is water.

 Greene county is located in north Georgia. The county is in the Oconee River basin, the Ogeechee River basin and the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Oglethorpe County
  • East: Taliaferro County
  • Southeast: Hancock County
  • Southwest: Putnam County
  • West: Morgan County
  • Northwest: Oconee County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge