Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Hancock County, Georgia

Hancock County Education, Geography, and HistoryHancock County, Georgia Courthouse

Hancock County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,429.  The county was created on December 17, 1793. The county seat is Sparta.  Hancock county is named for John Hancock.

Hancock County is included in the Milledgeville, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Hancock County Name

The county is named for the first signer of the Declaration of Independence, John Hancock.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hancock County History

Hancock County was created in 1793. Originally part of Greene and Washington counties, Georgia's 15th county was named for the first signer of the Declaration of Independence, John Hancock.

Millmore Gristmill, which is located within the county, was the site of the historic 1786 peace treaty between the Georgia and the Creek Indian Nation.

Founded in 1795 during Georgia's Greek Revival Period, the City of Sparta was named for the classical Greek city.

Points of Interest

Four Georgia governors have come from Hancock County: Nathaniel Harris, James McDonald, William Northen, and William Rabun.

The Oconee River makes up much of the western border of the county. Located on its banks are the Shoulderbone Indian Mounds, which date back to approximately the fourteenth and fifteenth century.

Lake Sinclair is formed by the impoundment of the Oconee River by the Sinclair Dam.

Notable Citizens

Several other notable people have called Hancock County home including: Lucius H. Holsey. Born a slave, Holsey went on to found Paine College in Augusta; Charles L. Harper, a civil rights leader who founded the Atlanta branch of the NAACP; and David Dixon, who advocated crop rotation, cover crops and other innovative agricultural ideas, until he became known as the "Prince of Farmers."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 479 square miles (1,240 km2), of which 472 square miles (1,220 km2) is land and 6.8 square miles (18 km2) (1.4%) is water.

 Hancock county is located close to the center of Georgia. The county is in the Ogeechee River basin and the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Taliaferro County; Warren County
  • East: Glascock County
  • Southeast: Washington County
  • Southwest: Baldwin County
  • West: Putnam County
  • Northwest: Greene County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge