Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Haralson County, Georgia

Haralson County Education, Geography, and HistoryHaralson County, Georgia Courthouse

Haralson County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,780. The county was created on January 26, 1856. The county seat is Buchanan. Haralson county is named for Hugh A. Haralson, a former Georgia congressman.

Haralson County is part of the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Haralson County Name

The county is named for General Hugh A. Haralson, a US Congressman and an officer in the state militia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Haralson County History

Haralson County was created in 1856 from parts of Carroll and Polk counties. Georgia's 112th county was named for General Hugh A. Haralson, a US Congressman and an officer in the state militia.

The old county courthouse, built in 1891 and now home of the local historical society, is a prime example of a public building constructed in the Queen Anne style. The clock tower was added in 1897.

Tallapoosa, the "Dogwood City," was named for the river that runs through Haralson County. Tallapoosa is an Indian word meaning "Golden Water." Tallapoosa is also known for having opened the first free school in Georgia in 1889.

Notable Citizens

Some notable people from Haralson County are Speaker Thomas B. Murphy, who has held the office of a state Speaker of the House longer than anyone else in the US; Whitlow Wyatt, a former Braves pitcher; and Leroy Almon, a well respected southern folk artist who has had work exhibited by the Smithsonian.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 283 square miles (730 km2), of which 282 square miles (730 km2) is land and 1.0 square mile (2.6 km2) (0.4%) is water.

 Haralson county is located in northwest Georgia. The county is largely in the Tallapoosa River basin with a very small part of northwest Haralson in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Polk County
  • Northeast: Paulding County
  • Southeast: Carroll County
  • Southwest: Cleburne County, Ala.


Higher Education

Campus for West Central Technical College located in Waco.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge