Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Harris County, Georgia

Harris County Education, Geography, and HistoryHarris County, Georgia Courthouse

Harris County is a county located in the west central portion of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 32,024. The county was created on December 14, 1827. The county seat is Hamilton. Harris county is named for Charles Harris, a Georgia judge and attorney.

Harris County is part of the Columbus, GA-AL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Harris County Name

The county is named for Charles Harris, a lawyer who served as mayor of Savannah.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Harris County History

Harris County was created in 1827 from portions of Muscogee and Troup counties. Georgia's 71st county was named for Charles Harris, a lawyer who served as mayor of Savannah.

Points of Interest

Franklin Delano Roosevelt State Park is located on Pine Mountain in Harris County. This 10,000-acre park features two lakes, hiking and backpacking trails, an FDR Museum, and warm springs famous for their curative powers.

The 500-acre Pine Mountain Animal Park allows visitors the opportunity to observe giraffes, camels, zebras, llamas, buffalo, elk and antelopes in natural habitats. Other attractions at the animal park include a monkey house, a serpentorium and an alligator pit.

The nationally known Callaway Gardens Resort is located in the county. The 12,000-acre resort features 63 holes of golf, a 1,000-acre hunting preserve and one of the largest botanical gardens in the world. The Cecil B. Day Butterfly Center, featuring more than 50 species of tropical butterflies, and the John A. Sibley Horticultural Center are located within the resort.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 473 square miles (1,230 km2), of which 464 square miles (1,200 km2) is land and 9.1 square miles (24 km2) (1.9%) is water.

 Harris county is located in west Georgia.The county is in the Chattahoochee River basin with a tiny part of extreme eastern Harris in the Flint River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Meriwether County
  • East: Talbot County
  • South: Muscogee County
  • Southwest: Lee County, Ala.
  • Northwest: Chambers County, Ala.; Troup County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge