Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Heard County, Georgia

Heard County Education, Geography, and HistoryHeard County, Georgia Courthouse

Heard County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,834. The county was created on December 22, 1830. The county seat is Franklin. The county is named in honor of Stephen Heard (1740-1815), a hero of the Revolutionary War.

Heard County is included in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area. Heard County is the only county in Georgia that does not have a railroad.

Etymology - Origin of Heard County Name

The county is named for Stephen Heard, a Revolutionary War hero and the first president of the Executive Council of Georgia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Heard County History

Heard County was created in 1830, by the Treaty of Indian Springs, from parts of Carroll, Coweta and Troup counties. It is named for Stephen Heard, a Revolutionary War hero and the first president of the Executive Council of Georgia.

The city of Franklin, incorporated in 1831, is on the site of a large Creek town. Centralhatchee is a Native American word for "fish stream," while Ephesus was named for the famous Greek city.

Points of Interest

There are several interesting old gristmills and cotton gins scattered throughout the county, including the Armstrong Mill in the northeast section of the county.

The Chattahoochee River bisects Heard County from northeast to southwest. The West Point Reservoir is a popular recreation area.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 301 square miles (780 km2), of which 296 square miles (770 km2) is land and 5.1 square miles (13 km2) (1.7%) is water.

 Heard county is located in northwest Georgia. The county is largely in the Chattahoochee River basin with a very small part of northwest Heard in the Tallapoosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Carroll County
  • East: Coweta County
  • Southeast: Troup County
  • West: Randolph County, Ala.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge