Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Houston County, Georgia

Houston County Education, Geography, and HistoryHouston County, Georgia Courthouse

Houston County is a county in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 139,900. The county was created on May 15, 1821. The county seat is Perry.  Houston county is named after Georgia governor John Houstoun, with the spelling being a common 19th-century variation.

Houston County is included in the Warner Robins, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Macon-Warner Robins, GA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Houston County Name

The county was named for John Houston, a member of the Continental Congress and Governor of Georgia from 1778 to 1784.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Houston County History

Houston County (pronounced House-ton), the 51st county formed in Georgia, was created in 1821. Originally part of the Creek nation's land, the county was named for John Houston, a member of the Continental Congress and Governor of Georgia from 1778 to 1784.

Perry is named in honor of Oliver Hazard Perry, the naval officer who said "We have met the enemy and they are ours," after a fleet under his command defeated the British at Lake Erie.

Points of Interest

Both Warner Robins and Robins Air Force Base were named for Brigadier General Augustine Warner Robins.

Robins Air Force Base, the center of the Warner Robins Air MateriEl Area, was built in 1941 for around $15 million. It covers 6,400 acres and is Georgia's largest single employer, providing an important economic boost to central Georgia.

Warner Robins is home to one of the top Air Museums in the country, the Museum of Aviation. This facility also includes the Georgia Aviation Hall of Fame as well as the Robert L. Scott Vistascope Theater.

Perry is home to the Georgia National Fairgounds and Agricenter

Notable Citizens

Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue and Former US Senator Sam Nunn are Perry natives.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 380 square miles (980 km2), of which 376 square miles (970 km2) is land and 4.4 square miles (11 km2) (1.2%) is water.

 Houston county is located close to the center of Georgia.  The county is mostly in the Ocmulgee River basin with a small portion in the Flint River basin

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Bibb County
  • Northeast: Twiggs County
  • East: Bleckley County
  • Southeast: Pulaski County
  • Southwest: Dooly County; Macon County
  • Northwest: Peach County


Higher Education

Middle Georgia Technical College and the satellite campuses of Macon State College, Fort Valley State University and Georgia Military College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge