Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Jenkins County, Georgia

Jenkins County Education, Geography, and HistoryJenkins County, Georgia Courthouse

Jenkins County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,340. The county was created on August 17, 1905. The county seat is Millen.  Jenkins county is named after the 44th Governor of Georgia, Charles Jones Jenkins.

Etymology - Origin of Jenkins County Name

The county was named for Governor Charles J. Jenkins. It was originally proposed that the county be called Dixie.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jenkins County History

Jenkins County, the 138th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1905 from territory then belonging to the counties of Bulloch, Burke, Emanuel and Screven. The county was named for Governor Charles J. Jenkins. It was originally proposed that the county be called Dixie.

The Jones House, near Millen, was built as a stage coach stop in 1762. A century later, General Sherman's troops looted and set it afire on their march to the sea. Learning that the mistress of the house refused to leave her sickbed, the same troops extinguished the flames.

The Millen Big Buckhead Church, constructed in 1830, is one of the oldest structures in Georgia.

The City of Millen was originally called Seventy-Nine or Old 79 because of its distance from Savannah.

Points of Interest

Magnolia Springs State Park is in Jenkins County. This 948-acre park is named for the crystal clear spring that puts out nine million gallons of clear, cold (64 degree) water every day.

Within the county is the site of Fort Lawton, a 42-acre stockade. This was the largest camp ever built by the Confederacy to receive prisoners-of-war. Built in 1864, it was later burnt down.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 352 square miles (910 km2), of which 347 square miles (900 km2) is land and 5.2 square miles (13 km2) (1.5%) is water.

 Jenkins county is located in east Georgia. The county is in the Ogeechee River basin and the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Burke County
  • East: Screven County
  • Southeast: Bulloch County
  • Southwest: Emanuel County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge