Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Lincoln County, Georgia

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and HistoryLincoln County, Georgia Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,996.  The county was created on February 20, 1796. The county seat is Lincolnton. The county is named in honor of General Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810), a hero of the Revolutionary War who was later assigned to the suppression of Shays' Rebellion.

Lincoln County is included in the Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. The Savannah River forming its northeastern border. Located above the fall line, it is part of the Central Savannah River Area (CSRA) and a member of the CSRA Regional Development Center.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

The county is named for General Benjamin Lincoln, who accepted the British surrender at Yorktown bringing to an end the Revolutionary War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln mCounty History

Lincoln County was created in 1796 and named for General Benjamin Lincoln, who accepted the British surrender at Yorktown bringing to an end the Revolutionary War.

There are numerous historic buildings in Lincoln County. It was the first county in Georgia to have a county-wide listing in the National Register of Historic Places. Over 160 historic buildings in Lincoln County are listed in the National Register.

Points of Interest

Lincoln County is the site of the 447-acre Elijah Clark State Park which is located on the western shore of Clarks Hill Lake. The county borders 380 miles of lake shoreline. In addition to boating and fishing activities, a museum in the park offers colonial life demonstrations. Revolutionary War hero Elijah Clarke and his wife are buried in the park.

Price's Store in Lincolnton, established 1897, is one of the oldest authentic general stores still in operation in Georgia.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 257 square miles (670 km2), of which 210 square miles (540 km2) is land and 47 square miles (120 km2) (18.2%) is water.

 Lincoln county is located in northeast Georgia.The county is in the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: McCormick County, S.C.
  • Southeast: Columbia County
  • South: McDuffie County
  • West: Wilkes County
  • Northwest: Elbert County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge