Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Lumpkin County, Georgia

Lumpkin County Education, Geography, and HistoryLumpkin County, Georgia Courthouse

Lumpkin County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,966. Lumpkin County was created on December 3, 1832. The county seat is Dahlonega. The county is named in honor of Wilson Lumpkin (1783-1870), the Governor of Georgia and a U.S. Senator.

Etymology - Origin of Lumpkin County Name

Lumpkin County was named for Wilson Lumpkin, a member of both houses of Congress and governor of Georgia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lumpkin County History

Lumpkin County was created in 1832 from parts of Cherokee, Habersham, and Hall counties from Cherokee Indian lands. Discovery of gold led to removal of the Native Americans from North Georgia on the tragic "Trail of Tears". Lumpkin County was named for Wilson Lumpkin, a member of both houses of Congress and governor of Georgia.

The county seat and only incorporated community is Dahlonega. The name is derived from an Indian word, "Taulonica," that means "yellow gold."

Constructed in 1838, the Lumpkin County Courthouse is the oldest public building in north Georgia.

When gold was discovered in the area around 1828, Dahlonega became the site of America's first major gold rush. Diggers extracted approximately $33 million in gold before abandoning the mines. A US mint operated in Dahlonega from 1836 until 1861.

Points of Interest

The Gold Museum provides exhibits on the history of the hills and the Gold Rush of 1828.

The county offers canoeing, hunting, fishing, camping, hiking on the Appalachian Trail, and panning for gold.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 284 square miles (740 km2), of which 283 square miles (730 km2) is land and 1.3 square miles (3.4 km2) (0.4%) is water.

 Lumpkin county is located in north Georgia. The summit of Blood Mountain, which Lumpkin shares with Union County to the north, is the highest point in the county. At 4458 feet, Blood Mountain is the 5th-highest peak in Georgia and the highest point on Georgia's portion of the Appalachian Trail. Lumpkin is in the Coosa River basin and the Chattahoochee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Union County
  • Northeast: White County
  • Southeast: Hall County
  • Southwest: Dawson County
  • Northwest: Fannin County


Higher Education

North Georgia College and State University

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge