Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

McIntosh County, Georgia

McIntosh County Education, Geography, and HistoryMcIntosh County, Georgia Courthouse

McIntosh County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,333. McIntosh County was created on December 19, 1793. The county seat is Darien. The county is named in honor of General Lachlan McIntosh (1727-1806), a hero of the Revolutionary War.

McIntosh County is included in the Brunswick, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of McIntosh County Name

The state's 17th county was named in honor of General Lachlan McIntosh (1727-1806), a hero of the Revolutionary War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

McIntosh County History

McIntosh County was created in 1793 from part of Liberty County. The state's 17th county was named in honor of General Lachlan McIntosh (1727 - 1806), a hero of the Revolutionary War.

McIntosh County is rich in historical sites. Fort King George, the first English fort in Georgia, was on the site of Darien. In the late 16th century, Franciscan friars from Spain established a mission on a bluff near Darien. On the same site had been an Indian village of great antiquity. Ruins of a Spanish fort and mission are also found on Sapelo Island.

Points of Interest

McIntosh County contains Harris Neck National Wildlife Refuge, Blackbeard Island National Wildlife Refuge and Wilderness Area, Fort King George, Wolf Island National Wildlife Refuge and Wilderness, and Sapelo Island National Estuarine Sanctuary.

McIntosh County is located approximately midway between Savannah and Jacksonville, Florida on the Georgia coast.

St. Cyprians Episcopal Church was establised in 1876 by freed slaves. Still in use, this tabby-construction church features stained glass and buttresses, typical of Gothic architecture. Also, the St. Andrews Episcopal Church, on nearby Vernon Square, was burned in 1863 when Union troops torched Darien. The present structure, copied from an English church, was completed in 1878, and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 574 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 424 square miles (1,100 km2) is land and 150 square miles (390 km2) (26.1%) is water.

 McIntosh county is located in southeast Georgia. The county is in the Altamaha River basin and the Ogeechee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Liberty County
  • East: North Atlantic Ocean
  • Southwest: Glynn County
  • West: Wayne County
  • Northwest: Long County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge