Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Montgomery County, Georgia

Montgomery County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontgomery County, Georgia Courthouse

Montgomery County is a county in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,123.  Montgomery County was created on December 19, 1823. The county seat is Mount Vernon.  The county is named in honor of General Richard Montgomery (1738-1775), hero of the Revolutionary War.

Montgomery County is part of the Vidalia, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Montgomery County Name

The county was named for Revolutionary War General Richard Montgomery who was mortally wounded at the siege of Quebec.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Montgomery County History

Montgomery County, the 18th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1793 from part of Washington County. The county was named for Revolutionary War General Richard Montgomery who was mortally wounded at the siege of Quebec. Portions of the original county went to form parts of Wheeler, Tattnall, Toombs, Emanuel, Treutlen and Dodge counties

Points of Interest

The Ocmulgee and Oconee Rivers join to form the Altamaha River at the county's southern border.

Almost 53% of the county's land is in farms. Only 20 Georgia counties have a larger proportion of land area dedicated to farming.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 245 square miles (630 km2), of which 240 square miles (620 km2) is land and 5.2 square miles (13 km2) (2.1%) is water.

 Montgomery county is located close to the center of Georgia. The county is in the Altamaha River basin and the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Treutlen County
  • Northeast: Emanuel County
  • Southeast: Toombs County
  • South: Jeff Davis County
  • Southwest: Wheeler County


Higher Education

Brewton-Parker College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge