Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Newton County, Georgia

Newton County Education, Geography, and HistoryNewton County, Georgia Courthouse

Newton County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 99,958. Newton County was created on November 30, 1821. The county seat is Covington. The county is named in honor of Sergeant John Newton (1755-1780), a hero of the Revolutionary War.

Newton County is included in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Newton County Name

The county is named for Revolutionary War hero, John Newton.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Newton County History

Newton County was created in 1821 from parts of Henry, Jasper and Walton counties. Georgia's 53rd county is named for Revolutionary War hero, John Newton.

The Newton County Courthouse was built in 1884.

Orna Villa, an elegant home in Oxford, is believed to be haunted by the spirit of Dr. Alexander Means who bought the house in the 1830s. Others believe it is the ghost of his son Tobe who makes the strange sounds and footsteps that are often heard.

Points of Interest

Gold mining was important in the county during the late nineteenth century. However, there are no active mines today.

Covington has been known as the Hollywood of the South due to the number of movies and television shows filmed there. In the Heat of the Night , a long running television show, spent its eight years in Covington while filming. The Dukes of Hazards was another prime time show that began its television series in the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 279 square miles (720 km2), of which 272 square miles (700 km2) is land and 7.0 square miles (18 km2) (2.5%) is water.

 Newton is located in southwest Georgia. The county is in the Ocmulgee River basin and the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Walton County
  • East: Morgan County
  • Southeast: Jasper County
  • Southwest: Butts County; Henry County
  • Northwest: Rockdale County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge