Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Oconee County, Georgia

Oconee County Education, Geography, and HistoryOconee County, Georgia Courthouse

Oconee County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 32,808. Oconee County was created on February 25, 1875.  The county seat is Watkinsville. The county is named in honor of Oconee River, which forms its eastern boundary.

Oconee County is included in the Athens-Clarke County, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Atlanta-Athens-Clarke County-Sandy Springs, GA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Oconee County Name

Oconee County takes its name from the Oconee River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Oconee County History

Oconee County, the 135th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1875. Originally part of Clarke County, Oconee County takes its name from the Oconee River.

Keowee Town, an important Cherokee settlement, was located within the county. Several Indian mounds have also been discovered at the Keowee site.

The Eagle Tavern State Historical Site is located in the county. Originally built as Fort Edward in 1789, the building had become a tavern by 1801. Some other interesting sites in the county are the Elder Covered Bridge and the Mockingbird Forge.

Points of Interest

The cotton monoculture prior to the 1930s badly damaged the soils of Oconee County. Today, only about 19% of the land is identified as prime farm land. About 56% of the land is forest.

Notable Citizens

Jeanette Rankin, the first woman elected to Congress, kept her summer home in Oconee County. She was elected to represent Montana before many states even allowed women to vote. Rankin was a pacifist and was the only representative to vote against the US's entry into war against Japan.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 186 square miles (480 km2), of which 184 square miles (480 km2) is land and 2.1 square miles (5.4 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Oconee county is located in north Georgia. The county is in the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Clarke County
  • East: Oglethorpe County
  • Southeast: Greene County
  • South: Morgan County
  • West: Walton County
  • Northwest: Barrow County; Jackson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge