Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Peach County, Georgia

Peach County Education, Geography, and HistoryPeach County, Georgia Courthouse

Peach County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 27,695. The county seat is Fort Valley. Peach county was created on July 8, 1924. The county is named after the peach, Georgia's most famous crop.

Peach County is included in the Warner Robins, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Macon-Warner Robins, GA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Peach County Name

Peach county is named after the area's most famous crop, the peach.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Peach County History

Peach County was the last county formed in Georgia. Created from Houston and Macon counties, it is named after the area's most famous crop.

Byron was named for the English writer and poet, Lord Byron. It was the site of the South's largest "pop festival" held on the Fourth of July weekend in 1970.

Points of Interest

Fort Valley is home to Fort Valley State University

Some interesting historical sites include the McArthur-Saxon House (1850), the Thweat-Brown Home (1863), and the Everett-Culpepper-Grady Home (1834).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 151 square miles (390 km2), of which 150 square miles (390 km2) is land and 1.0 square mile (2.6 km2) (0.7%) is water.

 Peach county is located close to the center of Georgia.      The county is the fifth-smallest county in Georgia by area. Peach is mostly in the Ocmulgee River basin with a small portion of western Peach in the Flint River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Bibb County
  • Southeast: Houston County
  • Southwest: Macon County
  • West: Taylor County
  • Northwest: Crawford County


Higher Education

Fort Valley State University, a member of the University System of Georgia, is a historically black college and a land-grant institution.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge