Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Pickens County, Georgia

Pickens County Education, Geography, and HistoryPickens County, Georgia Courthouse

Pickens County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,431. Pickens County was created on December 5, 1853. The county seat is Jasper. The county is named in honor of General Andrew Pickens (1739-1817), a hero of the Revolutionary War and U.S. Congressman.

Pickens County is part of the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Pickens County Name

The county is named for General Andrew Pickens, a Revolutionary War soldier.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pickens County History

Pickens County was created in 1853 from parts of Cherokee and Gilmer counties. Georgia's 100th county was named for General Andrew Pickens, a Revolutionary War soldier.

A railroad line built in 1883 from Atlanta, through the valleys and mountain passes of Pickens County to Tate and Nelson, made possible the development of large marble quarries. One of the largest marble veins in the world is in Pickens County, running at least four miles long. It is a half-mile deep and almost that wide in places. Over 60 percent of the monuments in Washington, D.C. are made from Pickens County marble.

The Old Federal Road, the earliest vehicular route through northwest Georgia, crossed northern Pickens County at Talking Rock Creek.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 233 square miles (600 km2), of which 232 square miles (600 km2) is land and 0.7 square miles (1.8 km2) (0.3%) is water.

 Pickens county is located in north Georgia. The highest point in Pickens County is the 3,288 foot summit of Mount Oglethorpe, the southernmost peak in the Blue Ridge Mountains and, for a number of years, the southern terminus of the Appalachian Trail.

Other notable peaks in Pickens County include Sharp Top Mountain and Sharp Mountain. One of the best viewpoints of Sharp Top Mountain is from Grandview Lake Dam on Grandview Road.

Pickens is in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Gilmer County
  • East: Dawson County
  • South: Cherokee County
  • Southwest: Bartow County
  • West: Gordon County


Higher Education

Appalachian Technical College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge