Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Schley County, Georgia

Schley County Education, Geography, and HistorySchley County, Georgia Courthouse

Schley County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the county's population was 5,010.  Schley County was created on December 22, 1857.  The county seat is Ellaville. The county is named in honor of William Schley (1786-1858), governor of Georgia (1835-1837).

Schley County is part of the Americus, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Schley County Name

The county is named for Georgia Governor William Schley. The name of the county is pronounced "sly."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Schley County History

Schley County was created in 1857 from parts of Marion and Sumter counties. Georgia's 122nd county was named for Georgia Governor William Schley. The name of the county is pronounced "sly."

Built in 1899, the county courthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places. The clock tower, once known as the "Leaning Tower of Ellaville," was straightened and reinforced in 1991.

The city of Ellaville was named for Ella Burton, the daughter of the man who sold the land for the town site.

Points of Interest

The City of Ellaville's water system is one of only two in the state which use duckweed as a natural water filter instead of chemicals.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 168 square miles (440 km2), of which 167 square miles (430 km2) is land and 0.9 square miles (2.3 km2) (0.5%) is water.

 Schley county is located close to the center of Georgia.       The county is in the Flint River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Taylor County
  • Northeast: Macon County
  • Southeast: Sumter County
  • Northwest: Marion County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge