Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Taliaferro County, Georgia

Taliaferro County Education, Geography, and HistoryTaliaferro County, Georgia Courthouse

Taliaferro County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,717. Taliaferro County was created on December 24, 1825. The county seat is Crawfordville. The county is named in honor of Colonel Benjamin Taliaferro (1750-1821), a U.S. Congressman and a hero of the Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Taliaferro County Name

Taliaferro County was named for Revolutionary War hero and United States Congressman Benjamin Taliaferro. The county's name is pronounced as if it were "oliver" preceded by a "t."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Taliaferro County History

Taliaferro County, the 65th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1825. Originally part of Hancock, Greene, Oglethorpe, Wilkes and Warren counties, Taliaferro County was named for Revolutionary War hero and US Congressman Benjamin Taliaferro. The county's name is pronounced as if it were "oliver" preceded by a "t."

 The county is the least populous county in Georgia and the second-least populous county east of the Mississippi River (after Issaquena County, Mississippi).

Points of Interest

Several movies were filmed in the county, including Coward of the County (with Kenny Rogers) and Through Hazel's Eyes (with Jane Seymour).

Taliaferro County has a joint school system with Greene County.

Notable Citizens

One notable citizen of Taliaferro County was Richard M. Johnston, an educator and author, who wrote Dukesborough Tales and Old Mark Lampton " Also from Taliaferro County was Roselle M. Montgomery, who was considered one of America's finest poets and often wrote about Crawfordville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 195 square miles (510 km2), of which 195 square miles (510 km2) is land and 0.7 square miles (1.8 km2) (0.4%) is water.

 Taliaferro county is located in north Georgia. The county is drained by tributaries of the Ogeechee and Little rivers. The northern part of Taliaferro County is in the Savannah River basin and the southern half is in the Ogeechee.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Wilkes County
  • Southeast: Warren County
  • Southwest: Hancock County
  • West: Greene County
  • Northwest: Oglethorpe County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge