Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Terrell County, Georgia

Terrell County Education, Geography, and HistoryTerrell County, Georgia Courthouse

Terrell County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,315. Terrell County was created on February 16, 1856. The county seat is Dawson. The county is named in honor of Dr. William Terrell (1778-1855), U.S. Congressman.

Terrell County is included in the Albany, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Terrell County Name

The county is named for Dr. William Terrell of Sparta, who had served in both the state legislature and Congress.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Terrell County History

Terrell County was carved from portions of Randolph and Lee counties in 1856. Georgia's 113th county was named for Dr. William Terrell of Sparta, who had served in both the state legislature and Congress.

Shortly after Atlanta's capture in the Civil War, Governor Joseph E. Brown arranged for a refugee camp at Dawson to shelter some 300 women and children who had fled the city. The "Exile Camp" was later used to house a detachment of 50 Union soldiers assigned to keep order in the area. Their kind behavior toward local citizens was long noted by the community.

The Battle of Echouanotchaway Swamp was fought here in 1836. This battle was part of the Creek Indian uprisings after the burning of Richmond.

Points of Interest

Once virtually a ghost town, historic Parrott has been reborn. This historic downtown offers many unique showing experiences. Parrott, a picturesque little town has been used for several western movies including "The Long Riders".

There are two sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places. These are the Terrell County Courthouse and the Garden Club House.

Another interesting building is the Chickasawhatchee Primitive Baptist Church which was built in 1858. It is the oldest church still standing on its original site in Terrell County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 338 square miles (880 km2), of which 335 square miles (870 km2) is land and 2.3 square miles (6.0 km2) (0.7%) is water.

 Terrell county is located in southwest Georgia. The county is in the Flint River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Sumter County
  • East: Lee County
  • Southeast: Dougherty County
  • Southwest: Calhoun County
  • West: Randolph County
  • Northwest: Webster County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge